Daryl Walker Announced as the NEA-Alaska Education Support Professional of the Year

Electronics Maintenance Mechanic receives NEA-Alaska’s highest award for non-certificated public school employees.

FAIRBANKS: On Thursday, October 31, NEA-Alaska President Tim Parker presented Daryl Walker, an Electronics Maintenance Mechanic employed by the Fairbanks North Star Borough School District, with the NEA-Alaska Education Support Professional (ESP) of the Year Award. Daryl is a member of the Education Support Staff Association (ESSA) in Fairbanks and NEA-Alaska, the largest association of public education employees in Alaska.

“Daryl’s work is vital to making sure that student learning happens every single day,” said Tim Parker, President of NEA-Alaska. “Even though he’s not in front of a class, the service he provides is essential to ensuring that Fairbanks educators and students can engage with technology in a safe and productive manner. Daryl is truly worthy of this award.”

“As both an employee and a citizen of the Fairbanks community, Daryl is engaged, involved, and cares deeply about others,” said Jasmine Adkins-Brown, President of ESSA. “Daryl has been an invaluable asset to our union and is constantly working to improve the learning conditions of our students and the working conditions of our colleagues. In addition to his contributions to his profession, he and his wife Melissa continue to make Fairbanks a better community by welcoming foster children and at-risk youth into their home.”

Daryl is an Army veteran and has spent the past 12 years in his position with the FNSBSD.

The NEA-Alaska ESP of the Year Award is determined by the NEA-Alaska Education Support Professional Committee and approved by the NEA-Alaska Board of Directors. Nominees must show excellence in their profession and be active in their association.