Suzanne Goodwill Named NEA-Alaska Education Support Professional of the Year


 Contact: Zachary Mannix, Communications Director, NEA-Alaska

907-841-1089 //

Suzanne Goodwill Named NEA-Alaska Education Support Professional of the Year

Skyview Middle School tutor receives NEA-Alaska’s highest honor for Education Support Professionals in surprise announcement.

 SOLDOTNA: On Tuesday, October 30 during an all school assembly at Skyview Middle School, Suzanne Goodwill, an academic tutor and intervention aide was presented with the 2019 NEA-Alaska Education Support Professional (ESP) of the Year Award.

 The ESP of the Year is NEA-Alaska’s highest honor for non-certificated education professionals and is reserved for those who display excellence in their work with students, in their profession, and in their communities.

 “Suzanne is the kind of educator who will go anywhere, and do anything to fulfill the promise we make to provide every student with a high quality education,” said Tim Parker, NEA-Alaska President. “Her versatility is only matched by her dedication to ensuring the students she works with achieve their full academic potential.”

 “Suzanne is part of our family here at Skyview Middle School,” said Skyview Principal Sarge Truesdell. “She is invaluable to the success of our school.”

 “Since 2002, Suzanne has worked successfully with students in a variety of positions in our district,” said Dr. Christine Ermold, Director of Human Resources and Professional Development for KPBSD. “I consider myself fortunate to have known Suzanne throughout her professional journey with the district, and I’m sincerely grateful for the many ways she’s impacted the students we love and serve every day.

 “I am overjoyed that a member of the Kenai Peninsula Education Support Staff Association was selected from a group of highly qualified ESP’s from across Alaska,” added Rachel Sinclair, President of KPESA, the union representing ESP’s in the Kenai Peninsula Borough School District. “There are so many deserving ESP’s who do incredible work in our schools every day and Suzanne will do an excellent job representing their interests as the 2019 ESP of the year.

 Suzanne Goodwill assumes the role of ESP of the Year from 2018 winner Sherry Shaw who also received the NEA ESP of the Year award, a national award recognizing excellent education support professionals.